I Raised someone’s rent today…

I Raised someone’s rent today…

Yep, somebody got the ol’ increase…the price bump…the hike.  They might even have a few other words for it that I can’t print.  But nonetheless, come renewal time on February 1st, a certain tenant of mine is going to be making that rent check of her’s out for a new amount, baby!

Cha-ching!

I Raised someone’s rent today…

With every gamble and every game, there are winners and losers- and today’s rent-raisin’ event is no different.  Winners:  My owner, my company, me and our industry.  Loser:  My tenant.  Dang….that looks a lot harsher than I meant it to- but I can’t really make it look any less harsh- no offense to my tenant, whom I’ll call “Miss D”.

I mean my tenant no harm, of course- and the increase is surely a modest one.  But here’s the thing- this is the first time I’ve raised anyone’s rent in 5 years or more!

Our inventory has plummeted.  And we’re not the only ones low on property and high on tenant prospects- that “coming ship” of increasing rents has either come ashore or is on the horizon for a few of my friends with other companies as well.

At Hampton & Hampton Management & Leasing, Inc., we manage over 600 properties.  We have 15 or so on the market right now- and applications pending on some of them.  I need more inventory, plain and simple.  If you’re in the metro Orlando area and have a client that’s been sitting on the fence and pondering whether leasing out their property might be a good idea, pondering time’s over!

The immortal Jim Morrison once sang “The time to hesitate is through….”, and I’ll sing those same words today- though with a bit less hair than Jim sported circa the “Light My Fire”-era.

Let me know if I can help you or a fence-sitter you have in mind.  I’m always available to meet with owners to discuss what their home might bring on the rental market with no obligation to them- and right now, the market’s hot!

I Raised someone’s rent today…

About Dennis Burgess

Dennis B. Burgess Realtor in Orlando, FL ORRA Vice-chairman of Strategic Planning/Secretary ORRA/FR Boards of Directors Empire Network Realty 6000 S. Rio Grande Ave., #104 Orlando, FL 32803 Cell: 205-445-4755 Office: 407-440-3798 bamaburgess@hotmail.com Twitter: @orlrentals Turning vacant into occupied, and "houses" into "homes"
This entry was posted in For Rent, Properties, home, homes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

