“Not in there- my mom has strep….”

“Not in there- my mom has strep….”

image

“Not in there- my mom has strep….”

     I’ve never had strep throat.  I speak about it from time to time, though.  I guess it comes from my odd sense of humor that finds it pretty dang funny that I can have epilepsy, narcolepsy, sleep apnea and a peripheral mononeuropathy- but I’ve never had the flu, bronchiitis, chicken pox or other any other “childhood diseases”…or strep throat.

     I do know the ol’ streptococcal bacteria is contagious, though- and that made a showing today just a tad bit awkward. It’s an occupied property, and the tenant’s daughter met my prospects and I at the door. She said she was “going in the back” while I showed the folks around, and I did just that as she disappeared.

The un-seen part of the home down to one closed door, I knocked to see if I could get the prospects in for a quick look. The daughter answered the door and told us that it probably wouldn’t be a good idea to go in- “Not in there- my mom has strep….”, she said.

I’ve been known to talk a real good bit, so when I’m left speechless there’s something crazy goin’ on. Yeah, something crazy like a tenant not telling me they have strep throat, and having that bomb drop on my prospects and I at the same time.

The prospects ran to the kitchen to scrub their hands- and surely weren’t one dang bit happy. Though I apologized profusely to them for this turn of events I really had no way of controlling, I still think I’m grasping for some appropriate words.

“What the heck?” keeps running through my head, but I fear that’s a bit inadequate.

“Not in there- my mom has strep….”

About Dennis Burgess

Dennis B. Burgess Realtor in Orlando, FL ORRA Vice-chairman of Strategic Planning/Secretary ORRA/FR Boards of Directors Empire Network Realty 6000 S. Rio Grande Ave., #104 Orlando, FL 32803 Cell: 205-445-4755 Office: 407-440-3798 bamaburgess@hotmail.com Twitter: @orlrentals Turning vacant into occupied, and "houses" into "homes"
This entry was posted in Listings, Showing, Tenant, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

