Making The Great Commission my mission…trip

Making The Great Commission my mission…trip

Making The Great Commission my mission…trip

Sometimes giving is easy, sometimes it’s hard.  Everyone has to make their own choices as to what causes, individuals or organizations to share some of their time with- and folks’ choices and their reasons behind them are surely as unique as the individuals themselves.

One of my problems in living a giving life is that I’m always looking to do more- to contribute  more, to help more people.  I feel it’s the Christian thing to do- and I’m often frustrated when I run out of time and/or money before I run out of folks whom I’d like to help.  I simply never feel I’ve done enough to help others.

In 2013, however, I’ll be afforded an opportunity to help an untold number of people learn the Good News of Jesus Christ- as I participate in one of my church’s upcoming mission trips.  It’s an opportunity for me to make The Great Commission my mission.

19  Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost:
20  Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the world. Amen.
                                                                                                                     Matthew 28:19-20

My church- Aloma (Baptist) Church in Winter Park, FL– is partnering with Amazon Vision Ministries (AVM).  From September 16-24, 2013, a group of us will set down in Manaus, Brazil and continue on by boat in spending the better part of 9 days spreading the Word of God to those in some of the more unreachable villages along the Amazon River.

Information about Amazon Vision Ministries can be found at:  http://amazonvisionministries.com/, while information about my church may be found at http://www.alomachurch.org/.

I’ve come to discover that mission trips aren’t free- and for this one, I’m tasked with raising $2,800 that will go towards my airfare, meals and other expenses.  I humbly ask for your support as I assemble these funds- and I pledge to work as hard as I can to ensure no donation is given in vain, that I use it to the best of my abilities as the Lord sees fit in allowing me to do.

Aloma Church is an IRS 501(c)(3), and your contributions are tax-deductible.  I won’t see any of the funds (or know who contributed unless the contributors themselves tell me).  Please indicate “Brazil Trip-Dennis Burgess” in the memo line and send your check or money order to:

Aloma Church

1815 State Road 436

Winter Park, FL  32792

Whether you choose to support me or not to do so, I thank you kindly for your consideration.  I’m truly excited about the chance the Lord has given me, and I look forward to spreading His Word.

God bless you,
Dennis B. Burgess

Making The Great Commission my mission…trip

About Dennis Burgess

Dennis B. Burgess Realtor in Orlando, FL ORRA Vice-chairman of Strategic Planning/Secretary ORRA/FR Boards of Directors Empire Network Realty 6000 S. Rio Grande Ave., #104 Orlando, FL 32803 Cell: 205-445-4755 Office: 407-440-3798 bamaburgess@hotmail.com Twitter: @orlrentals Turning vacant into occupied, and "houses" into "homes"
This entry was posted in Jesus Christ, Mission Trip, The Great Commission and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

