Wish I enjoyed what makes my living…

Wish I enjoyed what makes my living…

Orlando Property Manager

Wish I enjoyed what makes my living…

Seems I’ve always been a bit partial to country music.  Thinking back to the first songs I can ever remembering hearing, my mother’s favorites such as The Doobie Brothers’ “Takin’ it to the Streets” and “Black Water” and Elton John’s “Crocodile Rock” surely come to mind, but country songs have always seemed to capture the right feeling at the right time for me.  Or perhaps I just happen to seek out the right country song that goes with a current feeling- who knows.

Merle Haggard recorded a song called The Way I Am when I was 12- long before I ever thought of being able to understand it, or ever cared to try.  In it, Merle sings…

Wish I enjoyed what makes my living,
Did what I do with a willin’ hand.
Some would run, ah, but that ain’t like me.
So I just dream and keep on bein’ the way I am.”

Truer words have never been spoken.  Whether nature of our business or a consequence of it, I’m figuring a lot of others before me have arrived at a crossroads of some sorts- mulling whether to endure something they once enjoyed in hopes of doing so again one day.  It’s a classic exercise in the old “pluses and minuses” list we tend to use when making life’s major decisions, you know.

This isn’t my first pass by this crossroads, might not be my last.  As Merle says, I’m not one to run- but there comes a time when walking away carries neither shame nor regret.  Am I there?  I don’t know.  Will I stay in real estate?  I don’t know.  Do I even care right now?  Sadly, that’s the one question I can answer- and that’s with a resounding “No”.

Make no mistake about it- I’m dang good at being a property manager and all.  I enjoy more respect than I could ever deserve from my peers- and others in the “real Realtor world” who would soon see me start year #3 on our Governmental Affairs Committee and Property Management Sub-committee, year #2 on our Grievance Committee and year #1 on our Bylaws and Policies Task Force.  A second (and better) run for a spot on our Board of Directors?  Possibly.

But it’s just not fun anymore.  To be sure, the daily grind of answering calls from folks who either don’t remember why they called me or never knew in the first place, trekking all over town to meet with “prospects” that have lied to me to secure a showing because I wouldn’t have shown them a place had they told me the truth and dealing with far too many folks who feel entitled to far too much has taken its toll.  And the certainty of enduring becoming enjoying once again is anything but certain.

So who knows.  Call me crazy, but I just don’t think it’s good when one is fine with either “Welcome to Real Estate and Better Days, 2013!” or “Would you like an apple pie with that?”

Wish I enjoyed what makes my living…

About Dennis Burgess

Dennis B. Burgess Property Manager Licensed Florida Realtor Dennis B. Burgess Licensed Florida Realtor/Property Manager 2016 ORRA Governmental Affairs Committee Chairman 2016 ORRA Property Management Council Chairman The Real Estate Firm of Orlando 7600 Dr. Phillips Blvd., Ste #146 Orlando, FL 32819 Cell: 205-445-4755 Office: 407-581-5550 Fax: 407-581-5551 dburgess@reforlando.com www.reforlando.com Twitter: @orlrentals Turning vacant into occupied, and "houses" into "homes"
Gallery | This entry was posted in Politics/Opinion, Real estate, Strength and Resilience and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

