2013: Plans and solutions- not resolutions

2013:  Plans and solutions- not resolutions

image

2013:  Plans and solutions- not resolutions

Don’t know if I’m “getting old” or what…but every year seems to end the same way- and the next one begins the same way.  End of year stuff includes radio and TV folks’ seemingly endless “The Year in…..” music, songs, sports, news….blah, blah, blah…

Beginning of year stuff?  “What will be the best….biggest….” of the coming year?  Most of these are ridiculously wrong, by the way- though I find it amusing that so many of the folks that lampoon the failure of the Mayans’ calendar will hang on every word that Nostradamus guy allegedly uttered and await the realization of whatever prediction he’s forwarded along to The Weekly World News.

I’ve never been a “New Year’s Resolution” kind of person. Don’t really know why- just haven’t ever been one. I’ve never been a huge guy (which takes care of the ol’ “I’m gonna lose weight!” standard)- and back in my drinking days, I just enjoyed it too dang much to think about quitting (eliminating the ol’ “I’m gonna quit drinkin’!” profession).

So what do you do around Resolution-makin’ Time if you’re not going to be makin’ any? Well, you try making some plans.

I’m going to spend the next week or so evaluating all of 2012. We called the evolution Lessons Learned back in my Navy days, and that’s sort of what it’s going to be. What worked in 2012? What didn’t? I’ll want to repeat what worked and stop what didn’t. The latter is surely a chore in and of itself and much easier said than done- as old bad habits are often hard to break.

I already know a few things, though. The most basic of things is that I will trust in the Lord and the plans He has for me in 2013. “Blessed is that man that maketh the Lord his trust, and respecteth not the proud…” Psalm 40:4 (KJV)

So I’ll skip the resolutions, and instead look to make plans for the coming year, seeking to do my best toward making His plan my plan- for the consequences of failure in that regard are far more dire than any I’d receive for eating an extra piece of chocolate cake.

image

2013:  Plans and solutions- not resolutions

About Dennis Burgess

Dennis B. Burgess Property Manager Licensed Florida Realtor Dennis B. Burgess Licensed Florida Realtor/Property Manager 2016 ORRA Governmental Affairs Committee Chairman 2016 ORRA Property Management Council Chairman The Real Estate Firm of Orlando 7600 Dr. Phillips Blvd., Ste #146 Orlando, FL 32819 Cell: 205-445-4755 Office: 407-581-5550 Fax: 407-581-5551 dburgess@reforlando.com www.reforlando.com Twitter: @orlrentals Turning vacant into occupied, and "houses" into "homes"
Gallery | This entry was posted in Humor, Jesus Christ, Politics/Opinion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

