This post means more than any others

This post means more than any others

This post means more than any others

In ways it seems so long ago, in others it seems like just yesterday.  But however you see it, the 10-year-old with the chattering teeth with me in the photo at bottom has grown into a beautiful young lady of 18.  Alexis Taylor Ramsey will graduate from Orangewood Christian School (Maitland, FL) at 7:00 pm this evening.

Though I pride myself on being a bit of a wordsmith, I’ll never truly be able to describe how special Lexi is and how much she means to me.  From academics to sports (primarily her beloved volleyball), Lexi has excelled at everything she’s done- and she’s done so through hard work, dedication and determination.  On the volleyball side of things, it’s always been a matter of hustle and heart for her- as she’s hustled for every ball heading towards her side of the court, and she’s had the heart of a winner every step of the way.

More important than the academics or the sports, though, Lexi is a young lady who has grown up loving the Lord and knowing what Jesus did for all of us and how He continues to guide her path.  Yes, it’s Lexi’s character, kind heart and sweet nature that make her stand out among the other blond heads in school and elsewhere- and I’m simply glad I’ve been able to be a part of her life.

Things haven’t always been the best between Lexi and I- for any numbers of reasons I’ll take all of the blame for.  When Lexi’s mother and I first started our relationship in 2006, some of her first words to me were that “all I’ve ever wanted to be is a mom”.  Having no children and lacking the best childhood of my own, I don’t know that I fully understood what that meant until I watched her mother guide her through each day.  I made mistakes with Lexi for reasons I may never understand- stupid, petty mistakes in cases where an adult should surely know better than a 10, 11 or 12-year-old child.

I tried to be Mr. Disciplinarian at times, but that wasn’t my job.  I should’ve kept my mouth shut more, and trusted Lexi’s mother to handle everything the best she possibly could.  After all, when you’ve been planning on being a mom your entire life, you do have a pretty good idea how the whole thing goes.

To this minute, her mother remains the only one I’d ever consider more beautiful than Lexi- and she’s the only one I’ll take a back seat to in calling myself Lexi’s #2 fan.  I’m thankful I’ve had the chance to cheer Lexi on and take part in a number of her successes- when I surely haven’t deserved the opportunity.  I’m simply glad and thankful to both the good Lord and Lexi’s mother for seeing to it that she’s forgiven me for any of my misssteps, and if she loves me half as much as I love her I’m one lucky man.

So the most important post I’ve ever written is dedicated to Alexis Taylor Ramsey, Orangewood Christian School Class of 2014.  Always trust in your mom and the Lord, Lexi- He’ll never let you down and she won’t, either.  Listen to both your heart and your head, and trust in yourself.  Flagler College is lucky to have you in the fall (versus the other way around), and remember to keep your feet on the ground as you reach for goals that are sky-high and prepare to set new ones once you accomplish your first batch!

I love you very much, Lexi- and I am incredibly, profoundly and immeasurably proud of you today and every single day.  Congratulations on your graduation tonight- the reward you deserve for all the hard work you put in to get it.  Never forget the hard work, and never sell yourself short.  You’ve proven time and time again that there’s no hill to steep for you to climb, and no obstacle in your path you can’t find a way around.  Thank you for letting me be a part of your life.

This post means more than any others

About Dennis Burgess

Dennis B. Burgess Property Manager Licensed Florida Realtor Dennis B. Burgess Licensed Florida Realtor/Property Manager 2016 ORRA Governmental Affairs Committee Chairman 2016 ORRA Property Management Council Chairman The Real Estate Firm of Orlando 7600 Dr. Phillips Blvd., Ste #146 Orlando, FL 32819 Cell: 205-445-4755 Office: 407-581-5550 Fax: 407-581-5551 dburgess@reforlando.com www.reforlando.com Twitter: @orlrentals Turning vacant into occupied, and "houses" into "homes"
Gallery | This entry was posted in Jesus Christ, Local information, Strength and Resilience and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

