I joined this Twitter thing- don’t shoot!

I joined this Twitter thing- don’t shoot!

Total Realty Corp

I joined this Twitter thing- don’t shoot!

Anyone who knows me fairly well has known of my long-held aversion to Twitter.  I remember when it went live years ago- and my thinking how absolutely ridiculous it seemed.  “What am I doing?”   None of your dang business, Twitter.

I can’t recall who I was speaking with when I first said it, but my canned response whenever folks have asked me about Twitter over the past few years has been that I didn’t have account or interest in one- and that folks could feel free to shoot me in the head if I ever got one of the dang things.

Don’t have any kind of solid count of how many folks could be out to get me once they get wind of my entry into the Twittersphere with my @orlrentals account- but I just want to say “Please follow” and don’t shoot.

I still don’t know exactly how much I’ll use Twitter or what I’ll primarily use it for…we’ll see.  I’ve put out what I’d figure to be a considerable amount of tweets in the week or so I’ve been on there- nearly 800, I believe- with a number of personal ones related to my church mixed in with ones from the news and everyday life.

Still have to figure out the whole “followers” thing, too.  Twitter asks to import contacts from Gmail, etc- and I blew the thing up when I tried that.  Didn’t know exactly how many contacts was too many to load up, but quickly learned that 7,000 was too many.  I started following a number of folks- and now I’m taking a break until my followers get up there with my followees (so my account doesn’t look really pitiful).

So if you’re the least bit interested in following one of the world’s newest Twitterers, @orlrentals, I’d thank you kindly for doing so.  And for not shooting.

I joined this Twitter thing- don’t shoot!

About Dennis Burgess

Dennis B. Burgess Realtor in Orlando, FL ORRA Vice-chairman of Strategic Planning/Secretary ORRA/FR Boards of Directors Empire Network Realty 6000 S. Rio Grande Ave., #104 Orlando, FL 32803 Cell: 205-445-4755 Office: 407-440-3798 bamaburgess@hotmail.com Twitter: @orlrentals Turning vacant into occupied, and "houses" into "homes"
Gallery | This entry was posted in Advertising/Marketing, Education, FAQ Series, Florida News, For Rent, Properties, home, homes, Listings, Local information, Marketing, Orlando Regional Realtor Association (ORRA), Orlando Sales Rental Market, Orlando/Central Florida-area news, Orlandopropertymanager, Property Management, Real estate, Rentals, SEO, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

